Skip to main content

Serving Residents Since 1849

About Aurora Township

The township serves approximately 150,000 residents residing in its boundaries of (roughly) Orchard Road to the west, Route 56 to the north, Eola Road to the east, and Route 30 to the south. By law, Illinois townships must provide three basic functions: general assistance, property appraisal for local taxation purposes, and maintenance of all roads and bridges outside of federal, state, and other local jurisdiction. Aurora Township provides these services and much more.


Pace is currently conducting a customer satisfaction survey for Ride in Kane customers, and we need your help!

Ride in Kane Transportation Service Survey


Aurora Township Is One Of 16 townships In Kane County, IL, And One Of 1433 townships In The State Of Illinois. All townships Are Mandated By State Law To Provide Three Basic Services Funded By Local Property Tax Dollars.

General Assistance

The Township provides General Assistance (local welfare) to qualified, low-income individuals for their basic needs. This program is administered through the Township Supervisor’s office. Township caseworkers review eligibility criteria including financial and non-financial requirements. General assistance recipients must be residents of the township and citizens or legal residents of the U.S.


Aurora Township gives an assessment of all real estate parcels within township boundaries for property tax purposes. The elected Township Assessor and staff of deputy assessors review and determine assessed valuations for more than 39,000 residential, commercial, industrial and farm parcels within Aurora Township’s boundaries and maintains an online database of all property within Aurora Township.


The Township conducts maintenance of roads and bridges in the unincorporated areas of the township, including snowplowing, maintenance of pavements, drainage culverts, surface repair and road rebuilds for approximately 42 lane miles of roads and streets in the unincorporated areas of the township. The elected Township Highway Commissioner is in charge of this office, which is also known as the Aurora Township Road District or Highway Department.

Back to top