Aurora Township is one of 16 townships in Kane County, Illinois. As of the 2010 Census, our population was 149, 149 and contained 49,127 housing units. Much of the township is incorporated – primarily into the City of Aurora but also the villages of Montgomery and North Aurora. All townships are mandated by state law to provide three basic services funded by local property tax dollars:

  • General Assistance (local welfare) to qualified, low-income individuals for their basic needs. This program is administered through the Township Supervisor’s office. Township caseworkers review eligibility criteria including financial and non-financial requirements. General assistance recipients must be residents of the township and citizens or legal residents of the U.S.
  • Assessment of all real estate parcels within township boundaries for property tax purposes. The Township Assessor and staff of deputy assessors review and determine assessed valuations for more than 39,000 residential, commercial, industrial and farm parcels within Aurora Township’s boundaries.
  • Maintenance of roads and bridges in the unincorporated areas of the township, including snowplowing, maintenance of pavements, drainage culverts, surface repair and road rebuilds for approximately 42 lane miles of roads and streets in the unincorporated areas of the township. The Township Highway Commissioner is in charge of this office, which is also known as the Aurora Township Road District or Highway Department.